clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2016: Finalists, trophies, start time, and how to watch

It's awards night for the NHL and Connor McDavid is up for the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

At the NHL Awards tonight Connor McDavid will be the lone member of the Oilers with a chance to take home some hardware. That award, of course, being the Calder Memorial Trophy which is handed out to the NHL's top rookie. McDavid is the third Oilers player to be nominated for the award and the team's first winner, the others were Ryan Nugent-Hopkins in 2012 and Jason Arnott in 1994.

If you're planning to tune into the awards tonight this is what you need to know.

How to watch the 2016 NHL Awards

5:00PM MT / 7:00PM ET | Wednesday, June 22
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas
Canadian TV: Sportsnet | American TV: NBCSN

2016 NHL Awards Finalists

  • Hart Trophy (league MVP): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Sidney Crosby.
  • Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Erik Karlsson, Drew Doughty, Brent Burns.
  • Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Braden Holtby, Ben Bishop, Jonathan Quick.
  • Calder Trophy (top rookie): Artemi Panarin, Connor McDavid, Shayne Gostisbehere.
  • Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Anze Kopitar, Patrice Bergeron, Ryan Kesler.
  • Lady Byng Trophy (most gentlemanly forward): Anze Kopitar, Aleksander Barkov, Loui Eriksson.
  • Masterton Trophy (dedication / perseverance): Jaromir Jagr, Mats Zuccarello, Pascal Dupuis.
  • NHL Foundation Award (community service): Matt Martin, P.K. Subban, Mark Giordano.
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award: Alex Ovechkin, Shea Weber, John Tavares.
  • Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by the players): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Braden Holtby.
  • Jack Adams Award (best coach): Lindy Ruff, Barry Trotz, Gerard Gallant.
  • General Manager of the Year: Jim Rutherford, Brian MacLellan, Jim Nill.

2016 NHL Awards Odds (via Bovada)

  • Hart: Patrick Kane (1/10), Jamie Benn (7/1), Sidney Crosby (7/1)
  • Norris: Erik Karlsson (5/8), Drew Doughty (2/1), Brent Burns (4/1)
  • Vezina: Braden Holtby (1/30), Ben Bishop (7/1), Jonathan Quick (15/1)
  • Calder: Artemi Panarin (4/15), Connor McDavid (3/1), Shayne Gostisbehere (8/1)
  • Selke: Anze Kopitar (10/11), Patrice Bergeron (1/1), Ryan Kesler (6/1)
  • Lady Byng: Anze Kopitar (1/2), Aleksander Barkov (3/1), Loui Eriksson (10/3)
  • Jack Adams: Gerard Gallant (5/6), Barry Trotz (1/1), Lindy Ruff (8/1)

So Will McDavid Win?

Sorry, Oilers fans, I don't think he will. If I had a vote I would have cast that vote for him, but I suspect that it'll be Artemi Panarin who hears his name called tonight. As fans I guess we'll just have to settle for him having a long, productive career in Edmonton.