clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ken Holland, Kevin Lowe Among 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees

Oilers are well represented in this year’s selections

2009 NHL Entry Draft, Rounds 2-7 Photo by Dave Sandford/NHLI via Getty Images

Both Oilers GM Ken Holland and defenceman Kevin Lowe are members of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s 2020 class.

Holland will enter in the builder’s category, while Lowe will enter as a player.

Ken Holland will go in having won four Stanley Cups as general manager of the Detroit Red Wings. Winners of the ‘97, ‘98, ‘02 and ‘08 Stanley Cups, Detroit featured the league’s most electrifying offence of the late 90s and 2000s. Captained by Steve Yzerman, Holland rode the Russian Five along with some key acquisitions to four Stanley Cup titles.

Kevin Lowe will join in the player’s category having won five Stanley Cups in Edmonton (‘84, ‘85, ‘87, ‘88, ‘90) and one with the New York Rangers (‘94). A seven-time All Star, Lowe was a foundation player of the 1980s dynasty Oilers. Lowe spent over 1000 games in Oiler colours and joins six other Oilers (Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Jari Kurri, Glenn Anderson, Grant Fuhr and Paul Coffey) in the Hall of Fame.

Also inducted this year: Flames great Jarome Iginla, three time All-Star Chicago rearguard Doug Wilson, three time Olympic gold medalist Kim St-Pierre and three time Cup Champ Marian Hossa.