clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation Fan Pulse: Connor McDavid Early Favourite To Win Hart Trophy

Voters have good things to say about Oilers coach Dave Tippett, defenceman Oscar Klefbom

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

NHL: Vancouver Canucks at Edmonton Oilers Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports

It’s Wednesday, which means our weekly SB Nation Fan Pulse poll is ready to roll.

(Fan Pulse is a weekly segment in the SB Nation community where those signed up receive short poll questions once a week in their inbox. The results are shown each Wednesday.

Not signed up yet? Join now!)

Last week, Fan Pulse asked voters to see into the future. Based on where we are at so far in the season, who would take home some end of year awards?

Let’s find out how the ballots were cast. Let’s get to the most important one first, the Hart Trophy for League MVP.

Nearly 50% of those who voted said that Connor McDavid was the frontrunner to take the Hart Trophy for MVP. This probably doesn’t shock you. McDavid is currently on pace to break the 140 point mark in 2019-20, and he shows no signs of slowing down. Boston’s David Pastrnak pulled in a distant second, while Colorado’s Nathan MacKinnon took less than half of Pastrnak.

For Rookie of the Year, it’s a runaway. Nearly 65% of those who voted said that Colorado blueliner Cale Makar would be this year’s rookie of the year. Vancouver’s Quinn Hughes picked up nearly 20% of those who voted, while Buffalo’s Victor Olofsson finished under 10%. Former Oilers prospect John Marinon finished fifth on the list.

John Carlson leads all defencemen in Fan Pulse votes for the Norris Trophy. Nealry 60% of those who voted suggested that Carlson would take honours for the league’s best defenceman. Dougie Hamilton picked up nearly 20% of those who voted, while Oiilers defenceman Oscar Klefbom finished fifth in votes.

Fan Pulse voters selected Tuukkas Rask to win the Vezina Trophy this year. Nearly 35% of all voters selected the Bruins number one netminder. Vegas’ Marc-Andre Fleury finished second in votes, while Arizona’s Darcy Kuemper finished a respectable third in votes.

Oilers’ first year bench boss Dave Tippett finished second in Fan Pulse votes for the Jack Adams Trophy. Islanders coach Barry Trotz took the lion’s share of the votes with nearly 45%. Tippett finished in second with just over 20%, while Blues head coach Craig Berube finished fifth.


Each week during the NHL season, Fan Pulse sends you a couple of NHL questions that take just a minute or two to answer. The results are posted every Wednesday. Want to be a part of next week’s Fan Pulse? Join now!