clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Connor McDavid Wins Second Straight Ted Lindsay Award

The NHLPA have spoken, and McDavid comes out on top

NHL: Edmonton Oilers at Calgary Flames Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports

For the second time in his short three-year career, Connor McDavid has been voted the NHL’s most outstanding player by his peers. He is the third Oilers player to receive the award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, now called the Ted Lindsay Award.

Wayne Greatzky and Mark Messier are the other Oilers who have received this honour. The trio have combined for eight NHLPA outstanding player awards, including McDavid’s two. Gretzky leads the way with five wins (1982-85, and 1987), while Messier won the award once in Edmonton (1990), and also once with the New York Rangers (1992).

McDavid is the 11th player in league history to win this award multiple times. Besides Gretzky and Messier, the other players to win the award at least twice are:

- Mario Lemieux (x4), Sidney Crosby, Guy Lafleur, Jaromir Jagr, and Alex Ovechkin (3 times each), as well as Marcel Dionne, Phil Esposito, and Dominik Hasek (twice each).

Unlike the PHWA members, who vote for the Hart Trophy, for which McDavid was not a finalist, NHLPA voters did not appear to hold McDavid’s lack of team success against him.

McDavid led all players in points, with 108, in 2017-18. That total is 8 more than he had in 2106-17, when he won the Hart Trophy, as well as the Ted Lindsay Award, and the Art Ross Trophy. McDavid also sets career highs in goals (41), and shots (274) in 2017-18.

*All stats and historical award information in this article comes form