clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Connor McDavid Wins His Second Art Ross Trophy

He led the league in scoring months ago, but finally got his hardware tonight

NHL: Vancouver Canucks at Edmonton Oilers Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports

Tonight, Connor McDavid finally collected his hardware for his second consecutive Art Ross Trophy, as the NHL’s point-scoring champion.

McDavid’s 108 points were six more than the league’s second leading scorer, Nikita Kucerov of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

McDavid joins Wayne Gretzky as not only the only Oilers to win two scoring titles in their first three seasons, but also the only two players in league history to take home the Art Ross Trophy in two of their first three seasons in the league. The Art Ross Trophy was first awarded following the 1947-48 season.

Only ten players in NHL history have ever scored more than McDavid’s 208 combined points, between their second and third career seasons. That puts McDavid in some elite company, but the company gets even more elite after adjusting scoring rates, based on the league-wide scoring environment.

Based on Hockeyreference’s adjusted points formula, only Wayne Gretzky and Evgeni Malkin were more productive than McDavid was in his second and third seasons, among modern era players.

Of course, Malkin was older than McDavid was when he made his debut. If we only consider production in a player’s age 20 and 21 seasons (based on the player’s age on February 1st), McDavid trails only Gretzky in adjusted points, among all players in league history.

All things considered, Connor McDavid has had one of the most successful starts to a professional hockey career, in the history of the game.