clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2018 NHL Awards Are Tonight

Oilers’ Connor McDavid and New Jersey’s Taylor Hall nominated for Ted Lindsay Award

2018 NHL Awards – Nominee Media Availability
Can see inside your soul.
Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Connor McDavid has already won the Art Ross Trophy for the second straight season, but he’ll face some stiff competition for the MVP award tonight.

The Ted Lindsay Award (MVP voted by NHLPA) could go to McDavid. It could go to Colorado’s Nathan MacKinnon, or it could go to New Jersey’s Taylor Hall. There’s a very good argument that McDavid should take this award, as he’s clearly the most important player to his team. It could be MacKinnon, who finished with 97 points in 74 games, or it could be Taylor Hall, who finished with 93 points in 76 games en route to a playoff berth.

The Calder Trophy is awarded to the NHL’s rookie of the year. There are some good choices this year, but I’d be somewhat surprised if Mat Barzal (85 points in 82 games) didn’t walk away with this award tonight. Vancouver’s Brock Boeser (55 points in 62 games) and Arizona’s Clayton Keller (65 points in 82 games) are also nominated for the award.

These awards, along with the Hart, Vezina, Selke and Jack Adams awards will be awarded tonight live from Las Vegas. Start time is 6 PM MDT / 8 PM Eastern. Follow along for a full recap as things unfurl.