clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Connor McDavid Wins Ted Lindsay Award

Most Outstanding Player as voted by the NHLPA

2017 NHL Awards and Expansion Draft Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Connor McDavid is your 2017 winner of the Ted Lindsay Award. The Lindsay award is given to the player voted league MVP by the NHLPA. The players got it right. Connor McDavid is this year’s MVP, no matter how you slice it.

McDavid’s 100 point season helped loft the Edmonton Oilers to their first playoff berth since 2006. The Oilers would also win their first playoff round against the Sharks. The Lindsay award is McDavid’s first, likely of many. McDavid’s 100 points are the most since Doug Weight had 90 in 2000-01.

Other nominees included Penguins captain Sidney Crosby (89 points, 75 games) and defenceman Brent Burns (76 points in 82 games) of the San Jose Sharks.

Connor McDavid is also nominated for the Hart Trophy, to be awarded later tonight. McDavid will again face off against Sidney Crosby of Pittsburgh and goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets.