clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drew Czerwonka Named Captain Of The Kootenay ICE

Photo By Lisa McRitchie, All Rights Reserved
Photo By Lisa McRitchie, All Rights Reserved

News via Jeff Bromley that Oilers' prospect Drew Czerwonka has been named Captain of the Kootenay ICE:  

Cranbrook, BC – Jeff Chynoweth, General Manager of the Kootenay ICE Hockey Club, today announced the club has named 19-year-old Edmonton Oilers draft pick Drew Czerwonka as Captain of the 2011-2012 team.

Czerwonka becomes the 16th Captain in the history of the ICE franchise.

John Kachur – 1996-1997
Steve McCarthy – 1998-2000
Mike Green – 2000  
Mike Comrie – 2000  
Dean Arsene – 2000-2001  
Jason Jaffray – 2001-2002  
Jarret Stoll – 2001-2002  
Colin Sinclair – 2002-2003  
Nigel Dawes – 2003-2005  
Adam Cracknell – 2005-2006  
Ryan Russell – 2006-2007  
Steve DaSilva 2007-2008  
Andrew Bailey – 2008-2009  
Dustin Sylvester – 2009-2010
Brayden McNabb - 2010-2011.

"We feel Drew best exemplifies what type of player our organization is looking for in a Captain. There are many players in our club that are great leaders on and off the ice, but unfortunately only one can wear the 'C'. Drew is going into his fourth season with the club and understands the standard of excellence we strive to accomplish" added Chynoweth.

Czerwonka is the third Oilers' prospect to be named Captain of a CHL team and the second in the WHL.  Brandon Davidson was named captain of the of the Regina Pats by coach Pat Conacher, and Jeremie Blain is currently serving as co-captain of the Acadie-Bathurst Titan.

Follow Drew Czerwonka on Twitter @cwonks19