clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oilers Join Team Canada (Updated!)

Shawn Horcoff and Dwayne Roloson have joined Team Canada for the World Championships, continuing that great tradition of Oilers representing their country after not making the playoffs.

Ryan Smyth ("Captain Canada") was the standard bearer for Oilers in this respect, but the Oilers have always encouraged their players to go, and many Oilers have heeded the call over the years.  Horcoff has won two gold medals previously, while Roloson has one.

I'm not sure who else from the team will make the trek over to Switzerland for the World Championships, but I'd imagine there will be a few.  Here are the likely candidates:

Czech Republic: Ales Hemsky, Ales Kotalik, Ladislav Smid 

Russia: Denis Grebeshkov

United States: Tom Gilbert, Patrick O'Sullivan 

I'd guess that there's a spot for any of those six if they want it.  It was a little surprising not to see Sam Gagner on the roster, while Sheldon Souray said that he would "politely decline" the invitation if offered a spot on the team.

Over at OilersNation, Jason Gregor has confirmed that all of the players on the list above (with the sole exception being Ladislav Smid) will represent their countries at the Wrold Hockey Championship.